關鍵建議(四)

來源國應取消促使人力仲介採取不道德行為的獎勵措施,特別應規定所有移工付費違法,並加強對私人人力仲介的執法力度。
2 CWG69 H

許多來源國的招募產業以詐欺和虐待惡名昭彰,包括本研究中的四個國家。來源國人力仲介的惡名確實其來有自,但將其描述為萬惡之源則過於簡化。一位專家接受採訪時警告:「不要主動詆毀招募產業。」在很大程度上,人力仲介遵循監管單位發出的訊號。來源國那些所謂「保護」措施的政策和做法,在很多情況下誘導不道德的行為。

許多來源國的法律仍允許移工支付仲介費,包括我們研究中四個國家中的其中三國,這些國家根據不同的工作和目的地限制人力仲介可以收取的費用。但無論是哪個收費等級,人力仲介向移工合法收取費用導致實務上出現灰色地帶,移工因此預期必須支付費用。這種情況對試圖採用雇主付費政策的人力仲介造成嚴重的負面影響。有些來源國辯稱,他們在此問題上面臨兩難,如果嚴格執行移工不付費的政策,目的地國很可能會轉向其他提供更便宜移工的來源國,這樣就會減少工作機會和相關匯款,一些備受推崇的分析師也支持這種說法。解決方案當然是來源國應採取聯合行動,但目前為止這些國家尚未展現以集團進行有效談判的能力或意願,以提供國民更好的權利,

除了收費政策外,因為遵循「移工付費」模式的機構基本上毋須承擔任何後果,因此合乎道德的業者很難找到市場。此問題的嚴重程度和規模之大,與來源國對於虐待問題的執法力度相距甚遠,對不道德的行為也威懾有限。此外,司法管轄區重疊的監管和執法機構往往無法有效協調,造成執法不力,某些執法真空也使移工容易受到虐待,且無法追究人力仲介的責任。政府應該:

4.1. 採用國際勞工組織對仲介費和相關成本的定義,與主要目的地國及其他來源國協調,根據「雇主付費」原則,規定移工不應支付仲介費或相關費用,並確保讓可能成為移工的勞工瞭解此原則。

4.2. 要求任何為移工提供招募服務的個人申請執照。在執照核發機制中設立道德招募架構,而潛在或既有的人力仲介須證明其確實遵守道德招募原則,並由獨立的第三方驗證和稽核。確保執照核發制度公開透明,且移工和雇主可隨時使用,包括隨時瞭解法規遵循的稽核結果。

4.3. 確保勞動檢查機構獲得指引、培訓,並具備充足的資源,識別已取得執照的人力仲介是否有虐待行為,特別是招募過程中出現的詐欺和虐待行為。

4.4. 加強負責監管、檢查雇主和人力仲介的政府與執法機關之間的協調,執法機關主要負責調查未受監管行為人的詐欺和虐待行為,以及與強迫勞動及/或人口販運有關的刑事犯罪,以便制定相關作業規範,調查和起訴構成刑事犯罪的雇主和人力仲介。

4.5. 確保調查和起訴招募移工過程中的貪腐行為時有足夠的資源;對於索求或接受非法款項的官員追究責任並移送執法機關,並且每年至少公布一次此類案件的數量和性質。

4.6. 進行審查並公布結果,以便對履行盡職調查、承諾零收費招募與注意義務的人力仲介祭出獎勵措施。

4.7. 主動查處無證人力仲介和仲介,向詐欺和虐待移工的機構追究責任。

Key Recommendation 4: Incentivising ethical recruitment in origin states

Origin states should remove incentives that push recruiters towards unethical practices, in particular making all worker fee payment illegal and increasing enforcement efforts with private recruiters.
2 CWG69 H
Prospective migrant workers studying job adverts at a Manila agency @ REUTERS/Cheryl Ravelo/Files via Alamy

The recruitment industry in many origin states - including all four in this study - has attracted a reputation for fraud and abuse. This reputation is in many respects well-earned, but it is overly simplistic to depict origin state recruiters as the root of all evil.

One expert interviewee warned against an “automatic tendency to vilify the recruitment industry”. To a significant degree, recruiters follow the signals sent by regulators. Policies and practices of origin states, including those held up as “protective” measures, in many cases create incentives to behave unethically.

The laws of many origin states, including three of the four in our study, continue to allow the payment of recruitment fees by workers. They place varying limits on the sums that recruiters can charge depending on the job and the country of destination. Regardless of what level they are placed at, the fact that it is legitimate for agents to collect some fees from workers creates a grey zone, whereby workers expect to pay fees.

This seriously disadvantages agents who attempt to implement an employer-pays policy. Origin states, supported by credible analysts, argue that they are caught in a bind on this issue: if they strictly implement a no worker fee payment policy, destination countries are likely to switch to other origin states which offer cheaper workers - reducing job offers and associated remittances. The solution is of course for origin states to act jointly, but they have yet to demonstrate the capacity or the will to negotiate effectively as a bloc for better rights for their nationals.

Alongside policies on fee charging, ethical operators struggle to find a market because there are relatively few consequences for agencies who follow the “worker pays” model. Origin states’ effort to enforce laws on recruitment abuse are often way out of step with the depth and scale of problems, providing limited deterrents to unethical practices. In addition, regulatory and enforcement bodies with overlapping jurisdictions often fail to coordinate effectively, creating a patchwork approach to implementation of laws, and leaving gaps that leave workers exposed to abuse and unable to hold recruiters accountable. Governments should:

4.1. Adopt the ILO definition of recruitment fees and related costs and - in coordination with key destination states and where feasible, with other origin states - mandate that no recruitment fees or related costs should be paid by workers, in line with the ‘employer pays’ principle. Ensure that prospective workers are made aware of this.

4.2. Require any individual providing recruitment services for migrant workers to obtain a licence. Institute an Ethical Recruitment Framework into the licensing of recruitment agencies, such that prospective or existing agencies need to demonstrate compliance with ethical recruitment principles, and for this compliance to be verified and audited by an independent third-party. Ensure that the licensing system, including the outcomes of compliance audits, is transparent and accessible to workers and employers.

4.3. Ensure that labour inspectorates are instructed, resourced and trained to identify abuses, in particular fraudulent and abusive recruitment, by licensed recruitment agencies.

4.4. Ensure effective coordination between government bodies that are mandated to regulate recruitment agencies, and law enforcement bodies responsible for investigating fraud and abuse by unregulated actors, and criminal offences related to forced labour and/or trafficking - with the aim of normalising the referral of employers and recruitment agencies whose actions constitute criminal offences for investigation and prosecution.

4.5. Ensure sufficient resources are devoted to investigating and prosecuting corruption in the recruitment of migrant workers; hold accountable any official accused of demanding or accepting illegal payments, including through referring them to law enforcement agencies, and make information publicly available, on at least an
annual basis, on the number and nature of such cases identified.

4.6. Carry out and publish a review to consider the introduction of incentives for recruitment agencies who can demonstrate due diligence, commitment to zero-fee recruitment and a duty of care for migrant workers.

4.7. Proactively investigate unlicensed recruitment agencies and intermediaries and hold accountable those who subject migrant workers to fraud and abuse.